Thoughts on Lithuanian and Japanese

After some thought, and alot of playing around with languages and setting myself up for success yesterday, I have decided to put my “vocabulary list” with Lithuanian on hold for the time being.

I was getting materials set up yesterday so I would not have to actively look for vocabulary lists in my target languages (textbooks, vocabulary list books, websites, etc), and it dawned on me that I do not know enough about the Lithuanian language – more specifically about the alphabet and how the writing is pronounced – that I should be learning words yet.  (Kind of the “doh” factor, you know?)

In any case, I’ve decided to put the Lithuanian list on hold for now, until I have time to work my way through the pronunciation section of my “Colloquial Lithuanian” book and the corresponding audio, and I have a firmer grasp on the sound of the language.  I will probably make audio files of the material I have from Transparant Language (101 World Languages), and listen to those, and Pimsleur, when I’m at work.  This will enable me to get more comfortable with the sounds of the language.

I also am thinking it would be wiser not to set myself up the same way with Japanese.  I am currently working with the hiragana and katakana syllabaries, and I think my Japanese time will be focused more on that.  I will continue with Pimsleur and Rosetta Stone, however, and I’m sure I’ll be picking up limited vocabulary from those.

2 Responses to “Thoughts on Lithuanian and Japanese”

  1. Lit Says:

    Lithuanian writing is pronounced as it’s written, quite similar to German and Russian. For example, “United States of America” written in Lithuanian manner would look like “Junaitid steits av Emerika”. No English pronunciation when you read Lithuanian. Few tips: “C” – always is “ts”, “Ch” – always is “kh (“soft” German “h”), “G” – always is “Gh”, “Y” – always is “ee (“long i”)”, “i” – always is “i” (short “i’, and never “ai”), “J” – always is “German J”.

  2. linguaphile2006 Says:

    Lit – thanks for the information. I have listened to the first few lessons of Pismleur and am getting a feel for the sounds of the language, but I have not had time to sit down with a book and learn them yet. It’s good to know it’s a relatively phonetic alphabet, and should be rather doable once I find the time to sit down and study it.

Leave a Reply

